Skip to content

Dancing With The Devil

April 6, 2013

The making of eighteen devils (well twenty one now)

resins5It’s been a while since I’ve done any commercial sculpting and so making these devils has been an interesting experience. It throws up a whole different set of challenges and as these Devils will be stealthily fixed to various walls in a Town centre (Banksy Style) there is a need for a responsible approach. I’ve had the freedom to come up with designs and produce the sculptures how I see fit the only guide was to refrain from the ugly or grotesque because they will make up a trail that must be family friendly. For many the Devil is a potent symbol of evil but these are more impish, I guess you could say lucky Devils and I hope they are seen in that light. I have played around with different finishes so as to give variation and make the trail a bit more exiting. I’ve also tried to make the devils friendly, thoughtful and curious little creatures, I guess they have to be serious yet have a sense of fun too. I just hope that I’ve got the balance right and as always time will tell. The grey devil pictured here is based on a devil in Stonegate  in the City of York.

resin7

The Silver devil below is loosely based  on an old stone carving of a devil/imp in Chester cathedral.

resin8

The next devil plays homage to a more gothic approach and injects a variation in the interpretation of the devil himself.

resins2

and this was my attempt to make a more friendly devil, simplistic and primitive, a light-hearted approach  😉

resins3Pink Too

resins6

Finally this devil is the main character of which there are six, all in different colours, he’s a serious little chap with a smile and a wink and has the all-round qualities required. Here he is being sculpted in my Studio

DEVIL1

Better the devil you know 🙂

5 Comments
  1. Nancy Newberg permalink

    Now I understand where your style comes from I use to wonder ? One can see how hard you work
    I was wondering what do you collect ? When you are out and about ? Great job on your captured expressions on the devils, colors are good 🙂 have a good day ..Nancy

    Like

  2. ..and we now have supposedly “well researched” guidebooks to Chester telling us that these are “Fire Insurance Markers”…

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Haunted places in Chester | haunted.wales
  2. haunted.wales
  3. my | haunted.wales

Leave a comment

GERDA KAZAKOU

Eine lose Sammlung zur Dokumentation meiner Werke und Gedanken

Art and Design with Ms Lee

Art and Design at St Catherine's school

tamsinhaggis

my website is at http://tamsinhaggis.blogspot.co.uk/

PATHWAY TO JOY AND HEALING

W. BROOKE CHANG, WRITER & BLOGGER

İnsanlık Hâlİ

HUMAN CONDITION

Shrink4Men

Helping Men in Abusive Relationships Since 2009

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

HIDDEN DRAGON TATTOO

Tattoos and Artwork by Jamie Macpherson

Vikki Hastings Artist

Art is escapist, and escapism is inescapable

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

artsocia

the art of art associations

zara-moon arthur

a place to show and share my artwork, past and present

myreadingbent

Thoughts on books and whatever else springs to mind.